RSS
Aside
23 Jul

Has it really been almost four months since my last post?! This seems like a regular theme here. I have so much to talk about, but hardly any time to sit down and share. My daughter’s started full day school and the days have got waaaaay fuller for me. Plus, I’m back to doing sales after almost three years and though I thoroughly enjoy it, it is physically a lot different from sitting in the office and working on spread sheets. Between the two here’s how my average day pans out:

I don't look this sleek in the mornings and V is a bit older, however the rest of it is pretty much spot on :-)

5.30 am: Get-up and give my daughter her glass of milk. She still insists on sitting in my lap and drinking this

6.00 am: Cook breakfast and lunch, pack everything or lay it out on the table

7.00 am: Rush upstairs, set V up to finish her brushing and potty and do a 25 minute cardio, arms, legs workout while shouting out the answers to V’s random questions or life, friends  family, books, behaviour, God, science, geography, holidays…

7.30 am: Get V ready (if my husband’s available he helps out with the bathroom routine for V), do her hair and send her down to put on her shoes and start breakfast

7.45 am: Jump into the shower and get ready while forgetting to look in to the mirror

8.15 am: Drink a glass of milk and usher everyone into the car which ususally involves some level of screaming or glaring

8.45 am: Drop V off at school after a prolonged hugging and kissing session which I looooove (I hope she never outgrows this)

8.50 am: Get to the office or a sales call and start the day

Evening 1 (When the husband works late and I have bedtime duty)

6.00 pm: Leave work and read on the drive home. Complete me time

6.30 pm: Get home, feed V dinner (if she hasn’t eaten yet), get her to do her homework

7.15 pm: Play / reading / art time with V (basically snuggling time)

8:00 pm: Put V to bed, which involves very long stories or repeated songs or detailed discussions of random topics

8.00 pm: Have dinner and relax

8.30 pm: Spend time with the in-laws

9.00 pm: Start work

12.00 – 1.00 am: Stop work, read for an hour or watch Mad Men

1.00 – 2.00 am: Bed

Evening 2 (When I work late and the husband has bedtime duty)

9.00 – 11.00 pm: Get home, have a shower, kiss and watch a deeply sleeping V, spend time with the in-laws if they are awake

11.00pm – 12.00 am: Stop work, read or watch a movie

1pm – 2pm: Bed

This does not include days when I have morning meetings before 8 am, which means getting starting the day at 4.30-5.00 am and skipping the workout (I’m not really complaining there).

Seriously, my hat’s off to moms who do this with no help. I have domestic help, they may be a bit unreliable, however, they are there most of the time. End of the day I’m really lucky. I’m in an enviable situation of having my cake and eating it too. Yes, there are days when the cake is burnt with anger or soggy with tears, but most if the time, the cooking is fun and the eating is sweet. So no, this is not a complaint. It’s a combined thanksgiving speech and a semi-farewell speech, because even though I have asked for this lifestyle and love almost every minute of it, there are only 24 hours in a day and I need to sleep for a few of those. (Did you know, people die from lack of sleep, not mothers, like me, but soldiers and chronic insomniacs?)

I guess I’m trying to convince myself here, but the only area from which I can take a leave of absence at this point is the blog. So I’m going to take a break from mommy blogging (because, let’s face it, that’s what this is blog about), though I’ll share details of another project I’m going to be having fun with soon.

Thank you for reading in between your busy days. Every like and comment here, really gave me baskets of sunshine and happiness.

Photo Credit: Image 1

Leave of Absence

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Leave of Absence

  1. Elisa (@HipMom)

    September 22, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    gah – I hear you. I am moody and sleep-deprived these days and the stressful morning and evening routine is really getting on my nerves! At least I am not alone – misery loves company, right? ;-)

     
    • nmaha

      November 11, 2013 at 5:33 pm

      Hahaha……. Elisa, I knew we were soulmates :-)

       
  2. Fashion Confessions of a Mommy

    August 13, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Wow you are a busy mom with obviously very little sleep. I couldn’t survive on that little sleep and I hate getting up too early. Help or no help you are a superwoman. Wish you much more strength.
    Daphne.

     
    • nmaha

      August 22, 2013 at 9:54 pm

      You make me feel amazing Daphne, especially when it comes from another mom. It’s a struggle everyday but sounds so good when you describe it to someone else :-)

       
  3. Sanjana

    August 13, 2013 at 12:15 am

    I completely understand! Though I don’t have any of the commitments you have (l live alone, I don’t need to be a wife-daughter-mother-DIL on a daily basis), I find myself completely overwhelmed with life sometimes and put blogging on the back-burner as well.

    Lemme know when you’re in dxb next won’t you! I’ll have to get my updates in person now! :)

     
    • nmaha

      August 22, 2013 at 10:02 pm

      Yes, Sanju overwhelmed is the right word. I need your posts to feed my unrequited love for travel, so please never stop :-) Am planning a quick trip in October, will keep you updated :-)

       
  4. Anita

    August 2, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Wow. When do you sleep! Hope you find the time to post once in a while

     
    • nmaha

      August 22, 2013 at 10:05 pm

      I’m working on the sleeping part right now. Drawing up plans and a schedule building-up to 6 hours ;-)

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

