RSS

Happy Stereotype Day

08 Mar

I had an SMS conversation today which went like this:

60+ Male: Happy Mother’s Day.

Me: You mean Women’s Day πŸ™‚ Thank you.

60+ Male: Yes. In my view, WOMEN ARE MOTHERS.

For a moment there I didn’t know how to react and then I was mad (though I hid it well). I know a lot of women would have just shrugged it off and some would have even taken it as a compliment (especially with this person being from an older, more traditional generation).

I, however, could not accept this stereotyping. What did he mean? That outside of being a mother I had no identity. Excuse me, I was a person way before I became a mommy, and though I love my baby to bits, I am an independent, successful (in my eyes) woman.

Why do people never say such stuff about dads? Why is it that, being a good dad deserves an outstanding ovation for balancing your dynamic life perfectly, and does not mean the man is defined as ‘Mr.Daddy’?

Am I over-reacting? Could be. Do I have a chip on my shoulder? Could be. Fortunately or unfortunately, my first post here has been very revealing. This is the real me, so I won’t hold it against you if you don’t continue, though I will be flattered if you do (and I will return the favour).

To all the wonderful women out there, who enrich my life everyday. Happy Women’s Day. I like you for the person you are and not because of a role you play. I dedicate this song to you –Β I AM WOMAN by Helen Reddy

.

Note: I am not usually this way (most of the time). I can be very friendly and charming, if you don’t judge me.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Stereotypes

 

Tags: ,

22 responses to “Happy Stereotype Day

  1. Gigi Ross

    March 22, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I definitely think that’s a generational thing for sure.

    Thank you for coming by my blog today on my SITS day. i sure do appreciate it! πŸ™‚

     
    • nmaha

      March 26, 2011 at 3:02 am

      Hi Gigi, great to see you here. It is partly a generation thing, however, I also see it being a gender issue.

       
  2. Just Like June

    March 15, 2011 at 12:16 am

    PS-I responded to your post on SITS πŸ˜‰

     
  3. Just Like June

    March 15, 2011 at 12:10 am

    I think it was rude to, BUT to play the antagonist here (NOT excusing him by the way), but all women are mothers. We nurture our creativity, birth out of the box ideas, nourish minds and relationships, and create wonderful lives not only for ourselves but for others that are lucky enough to know us. One might not be a mother in the familial sense of the world, but you are a tender heart, a listening ear, a warm embrace, a quick mind, and a best friend. And THAT’s what a mother is.

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Just Like June

     
    • nmaha

      March 15, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      I like the way the conversation is going. It’s taking my focus of all the annoying stereotyping people put there and making we appreciate myself. Thanks June. I’ll go check out your reply on SITS.

       
  4. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    March 14, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    And Happy Stereotype Day to you as well! I can get VERY worked up about that kind of thing as well. VERY.

    Hello on the new blog – have added you. I hope you have been okay in your absence. x

     
    • nmaha

      March 15, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      Hey Mwa! so nice to have you around. I’m back now, having sorted out a lot of stuff and that feels good. Don’t these people just make you want to punch them in the face? (I need to stop now or I’ll hurt someone, most probably myself πŸ™‚ ).

       
  5. Tabitha Blue

    March 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Woman seem to get generalized a lot. But I know men do as well. I understand your taking it personal. But better to forgive rather than hold on to any resentment. It only causes more work for yourself. Give a big roar and move on.

     
    • nmaha

      March 15, 2011 at 6:16 pm

      I just roared and it felt great. Am shrugging of the resentment now πŸ™‚

       
  6. Charee Lenee'

    March 11, 2011 at 4:38 am

    Well how RUDE! WOW! hahaha Great song dedication also, I love it!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and commenting too! πŸ™‚

     
    • nmaha

      March 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      After reading all the comments, I think the rudeness is really what put me off.

      The song is great isn’t it πŸ™‚

       
  7. Crystal

    March 10, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I meant to say word press πŸ™‚

     
  8. Crystal

    March 10, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Love the new blog!!! I’m in the process of moving over to blogger as well. I’m really excited about it!

     
    • nmaha

      March 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      Yay! welcome to the party. Thanks for sticking with me through those empty months. I’ll return the favour anytime.

       
  9. Tracey - JustAnotherMommyBlog

    March 10, 2011 at 6:32 am

    Wait a minute. Is it Mother’s Day in other countries (I’m USA)? If so, Happy Mother’s Day. If not, hold onto this for a few months. I am so confused.

    Hmmmm. Most women are motherLY. I’m sure that’s what he meant. Women mother other people even if they’ve never had a child. Because female dna is just awesome like that. If we were in charge of the world, wars would be fought by sending the leaders to their damn rooms until they could apologize and say something nice to each other…

     
    • nmaha

      March 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      Hehe……Tracey you’re so cute………..it was International Women’s Day a few days back, when this happened.
      I love your perspective……’go to your room and think about it’ is the best solution ever. The U.N. should have a mom training their peace corps. Reminds me of this scene from the movie ‘date night’, where the mom uses here ‘I’m counting till three’ threat on the villains πŸ™‚
      You always brighten up my day.

       
  10. Sanjana

    March 9, 2011 at 6:17 am

    yeah, that 60+ man is the one with the problem.
    You’re completely justified in getting bugged.
    How did you respond?

     
    • nmaha

      March 9, 2011 at 6:53 am

      Thank you for that vote of confidence. I chose to ignore it this time.

       
  11. Lisa

    March 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I’m inclined to agree with you, and not just because I’m NOT a mom! It just seems rude to assume that our sole purpose in life is poppin’ out some babies!

     
    • nmaha

      March 9, 2011 at 6:53 am

      You hit the nail on the head Lisa. It was plain rude.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
