RSS

“I do, it’s just that…….”

01 Jun

This is what I’ve figured out. I keep justifying the following to people around me (and this includes people I meet for the first time):

  • Why I’m not a SAHM: There was this incident at a party where I said “I really tried it for 6 months, I really did” to a women I met for the first time. She avoided me for the rest of the evening.
  • Why I’ve not yet had my second child: I do want to, however, I’m too tired to figure out the logistics.
  • Why I work 12-14 hours, sometimes more, and then feel so guilty that I don’t workout or socialize and spend all my time making it up to V: After which I flop in front of my SATC dvds with a glass of herbal tea and a bar of chocolate
  • Why I juggle my meetings on days that the nanny takes off: Hello, I am the mother here, I have to pick my daughter up from school and feed her
  • Why the Techie shares a certain amount of child care responsibility with me on days that I can’t be in two places at one time: No one cares that I share a certain amount of the business responsibility (that’s apparently my choice) and all of the domestic responsibility (sorry I know I’m close to whining here)
  • Why the Techie and I can’t drop everything and and take the little munchkin on a summer break: I actually have to convince myself on this one, though the facts of no money and time, are staring me in the face
  • Why I don’t do “Me Time” – Hey you, you think I don’t want to? Well, I desperately do, I just dont’ have the time
Despite all this I’m very happy with my life. Slightly neurotic and confused, but very very happy.
Your Thoughts:
How do you battle your demons achieve work life balance? Work, family, social life and the all elusive “Me TIme”. *Ahem* Do you talk to yourself in the mirror? (Not that I do, just asking.)
 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2011 in The Real Me

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to ““I do, it’s just that…….”

  1. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    June 6, 2011 at 10:45 am

    I think it’s hard for all mothers. I don’t think anyone gets it right. Also, right now my children would benefit from me having a bit more of a life. My balance is a bit too much in the home right now. And we’re all allowed to whine about it sometimes. (I do SO much explaining and defending as well, to the full time working mothers. I wish everyone would just get on with their own lives and not feel like other lives are a judgement on theirs. It never is easy, is it?)

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      Yes, yes and yes. I think women judge women too harshly. The rest of the world doesn’t really care.

       
  2. Elisa @ Globetrotting in Heels

    June 6, 2011 at 10:33 am

    oh please – balance is a myth. It’s priorities: you basically need to decide what’s most important to you at any given time and do THAT first. Which unfortunately often means that me time goes right out the window, because as moms we don’t ever prioritize ourselves enough!

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      I would love if we could just buy a little me time, maybe by freezing the rest of the world to a standstill for an hour.

       
  3. deepti

    June 5, 2011 at 9:30 am

    been so long! glad to see you still in action, bookmarking your new blogsite, hope to see you two ladies soon. xx

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      Hey Deeps, great to have you back.

       
  4. tracey

    June 5, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Worrying about others’ perceptions of me is one thing that will suck the happiness away. I mean, we need to care a LITTLE bit, otherwise what’s the point in accomplishing any task, whatsoever? But don’t justify to other people: just accept that they may not understand where you are coming from and that’s ok. Not everyone has to be our friends. If you are confident in your choices and decisions without being condescending (which you don’t sound like), then people will move onto the next topic or walk along to someone who fits their mold.

    That doesn’t make sense, but I haven’t had coffee yet.

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Hehehee…………I’ve had my coffee and you are making a lot of sense. I think I need to work on the confidence part, I always seem to shrink if I feel someone doesn’t approve of me.

       
  5. Sorta Southern Single Mom

    June 4, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Well, I’ll tell you how I got my second child. I went away for the weekend, which earned me three consecutive nights of sleep, while my then husband attempted to work from home with a newly mobile 9-month-old. He was really happy to see me when I got home and BAM! Hello child number 2!

    Balance is hard. I’ve gotten better about it, but I’m back to work, full-time, out of the house for the first time since giving birth, so this year has been a challenge.

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      Hahahaa…………I love that story. No thinking just acting.
      Yes, balance is real hard and requires quite a bit of hard work.

       
  6. Sanjana

    June 3, 2011 at 2:47 am

    I recently won a life coaching session from a magazine, and my sessions with the guy were just fanTASSSTic! It just kinda opens your eyes to all the stuff around you u know!

    I used to be slightly skeptical about the idea of a life coach, but mine was just amazing!

    And really, the basics are very simple. You say you’re happy. So why bother about what strangers think of you (or FOR u!). Why is it their concern when you’ll have another child or not! I’m appalled at the lack of personal space we have in our society! It’s quite ridiculous!

     
    • nmaha

      June 8, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      A life coach sounds like a great way to do me time. I’m seriously considering it now.
      Hah! personal space you say…….we don’t know what that is around here.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
