RSS

Priorities

10 Jun

I really respect people who actually use the system of prioritizing (and stick to it) to achieve that ever elusive work-life balance. Well, here is my version of work-life balance.

The important stuff that I should be focusing on and prioritizing right now:

  • Getting a business loan approved for our business expansion
  • Helping V settle in at her new school. (She has moved on from play-school to real school)
  • Pushing up sales by by 35%-50% this quarter
  • Working at dropping at least 15 pounds (preferably 20), before our family holiday to celebrate my mom’s 50th
  • Waiting on the go ahead for the registration of our brand as a trademark
  • Planning on how to manage a romantic evening with the husband for our 6th anniversary this month. (It’s been 3 years since we went on a date.)

 The stuff that’s keeping me awake at night:

  • What do I wear for the school run tomorrow

You see I’m all about the balance.

Your Thoughts:

Do you spend sleepless nights planning on how to impress other women (who actually play no significant role in your life)?

 

 
19 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2011 in Lessons in Parenting, The Real Me

 

Tags: ,

19 responses to “Priorities

  1. Keri

    June 19, 2011 at 10:11 am

    P.S. you would have absolutely no respect for me! LOL

     
  2. Sanjana

    June 12, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    priorities are dependent on the need of the hour.

    But don’t you worry about getting along with other mommies. If you don’t, it’s cos they’re not like you, and that doesn’t matter anyway… cos you’re a lovely person and fine just the way you are!

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

      I really wish you could come with me.
      I guess I need to focus on the nice mommies (who are the majority) and stop focusing on the ones who insist on talking to you just to prove how good they are.

       
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:20 am

      Yes, priorities do keep shifting depending on urgency and timing.

       
  3. Blond Duck

    June 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks so much for commenting on my SITS post! I still struggle with the things you do–I focus on why I can’t run like I used to instead of creating new stories! It’s so frustrating how we still expect the cheerleader girls to judge us!

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

      I so felt what you had written.

       
  4. Crystal

    June 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    That’s great! I love your list and attempts to become more balanced. Something I’m constantly working on.

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:15 am

      Hi Crystal, welcome back. I admire how much balance you have actually achieved. Oh! lists are my secret vice.

       
  5. STYLE'N

    June 12, 2011 at 2:58 am

    Hi there! I love lists like this…. And Happy Anniversary!!!!

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:16 am

      Hi Naina, thank you for the wishes. I could create a list for anything.

       
  6. speedsere

    June 12, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Happy Anniversary in advance! I hope you have a special special date, I can totally relate. Stiving for balance in different areas of life, dates with husband would be one for me too. Dressing for school run, I’ve yet to experience that, I think even for play dates I do what I can, I like to keep things in perspective. I love being approachable and not hard to get to, so I try and dress to impress myself on that day, not really for other people. I am not saying that is the way to go, but I can personally resonate, so I like to mix it up. Plus, getting a couple of nice oversized bags and classy shes can help to pull it together last minute.

    The days when I can’t get it together as I would like to has its benefits, it keeps me grounded, I think I become more relatable to moms who are also struggling. So it isn’t a biggie yet, but I’ll know more as D starts school in Septemeber. Hope V is liking the move. Good luck hun!

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:18 am

      Hi Speedsere, thank you for all that lovely and useful advice. I agree on the bag and shoes thing.

      Incidentally, I’m not able to access your blog.

       
  7. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    June 11, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Yes. It depresses me, but yes.

     
    • nmaha

      June 16, 2011 at 12:19 am

      Thank God, you make me feel like less of a weirdo. You are way too amazing to be depressed.

       
  8. Elisa

    June 10, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I don’t usually shoot for impressing, but I do worry about being a huge disappointment. Sometimes I know in advance that the people I’m going to meet read my blog, and I worry that they imagine this perfect, skinny, gorgeous fashionista instead they will get this plus-size 30-something chatterbox instead. Oh well. As long as my fly is not open, I guess.

     
    • nmaha

      June 10, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Sweet Elisa, you just put the narcissistic in me in place. Thank you dear (does that make me sound like I’m ninety).

       
  9. nmaha

    June 10, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Hi Keri, thank you for dropping by.
    I love the way you turned this post into a positive one.
    Confession: Since I moved to wordpress, I haven’t really explored any of the features, it’s been such a fight to get the posts done, with my suddenly crazy schedule.

     
  10. Keri

    June 10, 2011 at 9:09 am

    You have written it down, therefore it is now a tangible, thus every action you take should take you in the direction you’ve stated. I LOVE IT… you’re a smart lady.

    Thank you so much for coming to my blog via SITS and commenting. I so appreciate you taking the time.

    Great to know another WordPress person. I just moved my blog from Blogger and still getting to learn my way around. Mostly I miss the “friend” feature. Many people are reluctant to subscribe. What do you do about that?

    Take care, keri

     

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
