RSS

A Real Commitment

27 Jun

Today the techie and I celebrate 6 years of commitment. The only difference being, we may not make it to an actual celebration. We will, however, be spending most of the day together, albeit in an unconventional way.

It’s been a little over two years since we started the business and this week we have reached yet another make or break milestone. We are fighting on two major fronts and we should have the results by Friday this week, till which time we just can’t afford to take our eyes off the scene even for a moment. If we are lucky, we’ll get to have a quite dinner with V and the in-laws later tonight, instead of eating at our respective desks.

Though things look tough now, and we are missing out on quite a few of the smaller special moments (including spending birthdays, anniversaries and other special days together), I also believe that we are creating memories of a unique kind. The truth is the last 6 years have taught me hard lessons that stop me from shedding tears too easily, however, today I had a moment when there was a pricking sensation behind my eyelids and the techie (who knows me so well) squeezed my hand under the table. Probably 19 years from now, when I look back, this will be the truest celebration of a wedding anniversary. The year we stood side-by-side, ready to take on the world.

Utopia aside, getting through this week looks to be so tough, I don’t think we’ll be the same people when we come out on the other side.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Marriage

 

Tags:

6 responses to “A Real Commitment

  1. Elisa

    July 7, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Getting through difficult moments can make you stronger, and you can take comfort in each other’s presence and support. best of luck!

     
    • nmaha

      July 8, 2011 at 12:28 am

      The voice of experience, that’s what you need at times. Thanks Elisa.

       
  2. Keri

    July 1, 2011 at 2:00 am

    Wow.. this is heart wrenching. You have an amazing sticktoitiveness that not many have. Hope you do sit down and have a good cry once in a while. It can be a great stress reliever..

    Listen to me. I’m good at giving this kind of advise and then swallow every emotion of my own. Old habits die hard. take care,

     
    • nmaha

      July 8, 2011 at 12:29 am

      I did take your advice about the cry, though had to watch a sappy movie in the dead of night 🙂

       
  3. Sanjana

    June 28, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    *hugs*

    All the best babe!

     
    • nmaha

      July 8, 2011 at 12:28 am

      That really made a big difference. Thanks sweetie.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
