RSS

Weekly Synergy: Win or Lose

07 Jul

Most people would do a weekly round-up on a Friday or Saturday, but I feel a desperate need to share, so Thursday it is.

  • Writing an investor update is tough; whichever stage your business is at and however confident you are about your business model. At the start-up stage, you are desperately trying to justify your spends. At the growth stage, you are continuously fighting to determine your position in the market (No. 1 if I take these parameters, No. 3 if I take this region….it’s endless). For a mature company, it’s why you have stagnated while the start-ups are exploding. All my writing skill and energy has been going into this, and my poor blog has suffered. Sorry darling, I’ll make it up to you.
  • Dressing up in the middle of the week for no reason, does get your spirits up. I read a lot of fashion blogs and was inspired to try something different yesterday. It felt so good when I remembered my planned outfit in the morning, plus I got compliments all day.
  • Working mother’s guilt is especially strong if you are the only full-time working mom (read 12-14 hour work days) in the class. I signed up for 4 volunteer activities, which I have no time for. While the perfect SAHM moms, who spend all this quality time with their kids, gave me a smug smile (the superior ones) or an encouraging chin-up kind-of smile (the nice ones) and signed up for just one activity! What have I done! I can say no to a high powered investor, however, I can’t refuse a disapproving primary school teacher. I actually shot my arm up in the air and shouted “me, I’ll do it”, before realizing I had no competition and turning beet red. I hope V doesn’t grow-up to deny our relationship. She did give me a grin this time, hope it doesn’t turn into a “not cool mommy” soon.
This week’s assessment: Work wins, life almost loses (unless you count the fact that V and I are going to spend project time having fun tonight).
 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Weekly Synergy: Win or Lose

  1. speedsere

    July 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    dressing up for no reason in the middle of the week, glad you did it, note to self to do it more often for no reason. Being caught up with potty training, running for groceries, cleaning up umpteenth time d makes a mess and evrything else that goes with it, I somtimes forget I need to dress up for no reason and it can be fun, if not for others at least for me! thumbs up 🙂

     
  2. Sanjana

    July 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I don’t understand why people are so quick to judge others who make different choices. Strange.
    Only you know what’s right for you. So don’t let anyone else guilt you into doing what you don’t want to.

     
  3. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    July 8, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Just remember over here it’s the SAHMs who are looked down upon. It’s all relative… And you know best what’s right for your family. I’m the (hopefully nice) SAHM volunteering for only one thing, and sitting lazily at home for the remainder of the time. (Baby’s naptime is my excuse. Shame that won’t work forever.)

     
    • nmaha

      July 8, 2011 at 7:02 am

      Mwa, I love all my blogger SAHM friends. I can’t imagine anyone looking down on amazing mothers like you. If anything you women have inspired me to take a second shot at the SAHM thing for a while when I have my second one. If there’s one thing I’ve learn’t from my measly 6 months at home, being a good SAHM is tough. Going to work is much easier 🙂

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
