RSS

Royal Service

02 Aug

Well, we got back from our amazing mini-vacation on Monday evening last week. I think having Monday off was the best part of travelling. Since we took the in-laws along with us, we stayed at this gorgeous 2 bedroom, 2 living room villa with a private pool. The weather cooperated, cool with a threat of rain, without any actual rain till the day we left. Despite all this wonderful stuff, the absolute best part of the whole experience was the SERVICE.

I’m not one for hotel chains, unless it’s within a city, however, this particular chain always delivers on it’s promise of service. Their food, rooms and facilities are all standard luxury 5-stare quality, nothing unique here. What sets them apart is the willingness of the chef to fine-tune a standard dish into a special one, the ability of the room service people to anticipate your needs and the efforts of the entire team to ensure that their guests truly feel like “the customer is king”.

We got into a routine of having a couple of drinks at the bar every evening before dinner, while on this break. They have a family bar, where children are allowed, and since there wasn’t too much of a crowd on most days, the bar-tenders used to take turns playing with V and giving her crash courses in making mocktails. Now, I can tell you that keeping a three year-old entertained in a bar is not easy. V was so spoilt by the team there, that every evening at the dot of 7, she’d start with “Daddy, it’s time to go to the bar”. (Please don’t call social services yet, this has never happened before).

It was not just V, since I know a lot of hotels do special stuff for children. Take my father in-law for example. This man is very particular when it comes to food, and on day one the head waiter figured out that he was picking at his plate. So, he summoned the chef and from that minute on all my father-in-laws meals were tailored, even if we were at the Sunday brunch with hordes of other people.

When the room service team realised that V loves fruit and yoghurt smoothies, they had one waiting for her in the room every afternoon when she finished her swim!

So apart from wishing that I could just move in permanently, I learnt that what makes a business great rather than good, is it’s service and that means it’s people. So on getting back, the first thing I’ve started working on is a training renewal program that focuses on customer service. Like all service oriented businesses, we have an induction program on joining and yearly technical renewal training (our is a very technical industry), however, we never do a focused retraining on just making your customer feel special. Fingers crossed, that I can get my team to be as customer-oriented as the people who made my vacation amazing.

Any tips or suggestions to help me?

P.S. – I plan to shoot out an email to the hotel’s management team, letting them know how great their staff was.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2011 in Travel and Adventure

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Royal Service

  1. Victoria (Mrs Scruff)

    August 6, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Oh, and I meant to ask…how are finding Word Press? I have set up a new blog, its literally in the early stages…I have set it up in blogger because that’s what I know, but tempted to go to wordpress because that seems to be what everyone else does! Would love your thoughts as an old blogger/ new wordpresser!

     
    • nmaha

      August 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      Wow, another blog, you really are superwoman 🙂
      On a comparative basis, wordpress is much more professional in feel and options. The only downside is it’s a bit technical and I still haven’t figured out a lot of stuff. For example, I’ve forgotten how to change my header content and update by blogroll.

       
  2. Victoria (Mrs Scruff)

    August 6, 2011 at 1:28 am

    To leave such an obvious impression on you, you should drop them a note. Gestures like that would encourage the good service to continue. Its like anything, its people that make an experience – views are magical – but its people that make the vibe. I’m so pleased you had a lovely holiday. You need to at least think about the next one so you don’t risk post holiday blues!

     
    • nmaha

      August 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      I completely agree with you, both on the note and planning our next break. I am hoping we get to go to Sri Lanka at end of this month *fingers crossed*, for my mom’s 50th b’day.

       
  3. Stacey Blake

    August 4, 2011 at 9:29 am

    royal service indeed! i think it’s a wonderful idea to let the hotel management know how great a service you received from their staff.

     
    • nmaha

      August 4, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      I felt it was the least I could do after they went all out to make our time there special.

       
  4. STYLE'N

    August 4, 2011 at 1:36 am

    oh sounds like a great time. I love Kerala!

     
    • nmaha

      August 4, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      🙂 We have done a lot of Indian destinations this year including Ahmedabad, Delhi, Mumbai (we do this every year), Bangalore (I hadn’t been for years) and a few locations in Andhra Pradesh. We are planning for Rajasthan and a few of the national parks in winter. V has never traveled much in India, except for when we lived in Hyderabad, since our family is scattered all over the globe, and we wanted her to experience a bit more of it’s varied culture.

       
  5. Sanjana

    August 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    wow! where was thisss?!

     
    • nmaha

      August 4, 2011 at 12:41 am

      The Taj resort at Kovalam. My second time in kerala and I was completely bowled over by the beauty of that place.

       
      • Sanjana

        August 4, 2011 at 9:00 pm

        kovalammmmm! That’s like a half hour drive from my place! I’ve been to the Leela there, not been to Taj. Leela was lovely!

         
  6. Elisa

    August 3, 2011 at 1:35 am

    wow, sounds like an amazing, relaxing, fun vacation! The way all vacations should be – that’s when you come home truly recharged. Welcome home!

     
    • nmaha

      August 3, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      Hey Elisa, thank you for the welcome. It was as close to perfect as possible. Are you back from your visit ‘home’?

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
