RSS

Silk Route

25 Aug

I’ll tell you why I’ve been AWOL recently, in the next post. I may even have some interesting news in the near future.

Right now I have something else to share with you. My husband paid me the cutest compliment today, he called me an iconic Indian woman (yes, I know he’s married to me, but it still felt great). You ask why? Well, here’s why.

My cousin sister had a traditional women’s function at home today and this is what my morning looked like:

  • 6.30 am – leave mom’s house (we spent the night there) and head home
  • 7:00 am – get the little one ready in her Indian finery (she loves it and I have to hide the stuff from her on regular days)
  • 7:30 am – start tying 9 yards of gorgeous but confusing silk around myself. My cousins, aunt and I are dab hands at tying a 6 yards saree, however, for a 9 yards one we turn too ……. you tube 🙂 Here’s the video we followed . My husband spent the whole 15 minutes laughing at the tiny grandmom and her super tall granddaughter.
  • 8:00 am – get into the car for the one hour drive. I was driving, since I would drop my husband off at work and take the car. I didn’t want to get out in all my finery at the office gates to switch sides (silly huh!)
  • 9:00 am – reached my cousin’s beautiful house
  • 11:30 am – changed into my work clothes, changed V into more manageable clothes and did the goodbye routine with V (she was spending the day with her cousins after skipping school)
  • 12:00 pm – walked into the office and started the day with a meeting with the bankers

It was during the car ride that my husband made the ‘Iconic Women’ comment. He found it amazing that I managed to drive the car wearing 9 yards of slithery silk. He even took a picture of me at the wheel with sunglasses (I look ridiculous), when he caught a whole bunch of people on a bus staring at us (my daughter was also dressed in a heavily embroidery silk outfit paired with purple flower sunglasses). I’m sure we were quite a sight and must have provided a lot of family entertainment when that bunch of people got home from work.

Why did I write this post? Well, primarily because for once in my life I actually felt that I was pulling the work-life balance thing off.

What do you think, did it sound like a day of balance or the day of a confused woman? Is this just an Asian thing or do women all over the world have to manage outfits along with all the other juggling we do?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Stereotypes

 

Tags: ,

18 responses to “Silk Route

  1. Kusum Rohra

    September 30, 2011 at 2:49 am

    Well girl you are never gonna survive unless it get’s a little crazy 🙂 I too do not know how to tie a saree, for our anniversary this year, which is really close, I plan to wear one so thanks for the video here.

     
    • nmaha

      September 30, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      I know, we need some excitement to shake up our lives a bit. Congrats in advance on the anniversary, how many years has it been? I suggest you find a 6 yards tutorial or you’ll end up looking like a maharashtrian fisherwoman on your date:-)

       
  2. STYLE'N

    September 8, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Wow sounds like a long day but yes you managed to balance it all so well!

     
    • nmaha

      September 8, 2011 at 5:56 pm

      It was more fun than a regular day. I prefer over-full to routine 🙂

       
  3. The Wild Child

    August 28, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Bravo, woman! Never tried the madisaar. Even the 6 yard one is something that takes up so much of my bandwidth that I can’t do much else when I’m wearing it. Good job getting so much done!!

     
    • nmaha

      August 29, 2011 at 7:23 am

      The 9 yards are tougher to tie, however, the feel is like a pair of harem pants, so much easier to do stuff in.

       
  4. Tanya (Bump2Basics)

    August 27, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Sounds like a very graceful balance to me.

     
    • nmaha

      August 27, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      Thanks Tanya, that comment made me feel like a lady 🙂

      Oh! btw, when I try to visit your blog I get a malware warning and can’t proceed.

       
  5. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    August 27, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Back from watching – that’s gorgeous! But not easy… But gorgeous!

     
    • nmaha

      August 27, 2011 at 5:38 pm

      It does feel pretty luxurious and is usually worn by the bride and mothers (bride and grooms) at a wedding and other traditional events.

       
  6. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    August 27, 2011 at 8:06 am

    I think it sounds perfectly balanced. Nice to spend some time with the girls anyway. I’m off to watch that video now. It’s nice timing, because I’m reading an Indian book and one of the characters just changed to a 9 yd one because she got married, and I was wondering how that would work. x

     
    • nmaha

      August 27, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      That is amazing timing! Which book are you reading (I’m really curious now)?

      I did feel good about my balance for once 🙂

       
  7. Sanjana

    August 27, 2011 at 1:12 am

    😀

    Loved the title of your post! 😉
    And the post had me nodding my head in agreement! Women go through a lot of tasks in a day, even otherwise. Having to do in draped in 9 yards of silk is just almost next to impossible!

    So bravo!

     
    • nmaha

      August 27, 2011 at 1:31 am

      Hehehe………thanks, I actually named it ‘Driving in Silks’ and changed it.
      To tell you the truth it was easier than driving with a regular 6-yards, however, all that awe felt too good for me to confess 😉

       
  8. Callum Winterford

    August 26, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    This is a really good blog and it’s interesting to see how other people’s lives function. I look forward to seeing some more posts!

     
    • nmaha

      August 26, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      Hi Callum, you made my day. Hope to see you around here again.

       
  9. ennospace

    August 26, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    LOL, interesting life!!

     
    • nmaha

      August 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      Hi ennospace, welcome to the blog. Yes, it does seem interesting doesn’t it, however, it’s also a little bit crazy 🙂

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
