RSS

The Girlfriend Search – Online

08 Sep

Remember when I asked one of V’s classmate’s mothers (that’s quite a mouthful) out on a girlfriend coffee date? Well, she said yes. Since both of us live in joint families and have young children, we are still struggling to fix a date, however, I’m confident we’ll get there. This was part of my exercise to achieve true work-life balance between my professional, domestic and social (currently close to extinct) lives.

Anyway, getting to the point. That positive experience gave me the confidence to try other avenues of friend-making. One option was exploring the online world of clubs and groups. I finally found a mother’s group that I was comfortable joining and introducing myself to. On being accepted, I took a bold decision to take things one step further. For a week I observed that people were not too active and on backtracking realized that this was the status quo for the last 6 months! So the new confident me suggested an area wise mummy coffee date for the new and old members to get to know each other in smaller groups. The organizers were pretty happy with the general response and decided to go ahead with it.

So we are having our first meet-up, sans children (can we do this always?), this Saturday at tea time. The best part, in the process of helping the organizers, a bit, I have already got to know a few of the women and they think I’m cool for getting stuff on track.

Since the last two attempts have been successful, I have set myself a target of finding one new avenue to socialize every month. The mother’s group was August’s activity. I’m already working on September’s, which is a bit different, and will let you know about it soon.

I’m working on Part 2 of my Sri Lanka series and will have that up soon. For those of you who are new, here’s Part 1: Within the Battlements .

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2011 in Creating a Social Life

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “The Girlfriend Search – Online

  1. Laura Hedgecock

    September 29, 2011 at 9:59 am

    One day about 16 years ago a total stranger named Jenny came to my door with her baby in her arms. A member of our “baby group” met her at a community center, saw she knew no one and invited her. (Then forgot to tell me and forgot to come. )

    I am so GRATEFUL that Jenny screwed up her courage and came, because she is one of my favorite people on the planet and a dear friend. I’d hate to think of not knowing her.

    So… You go girl! Make those friends and connections any way that works for you.

     
    • nmaha

      September 29, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Wow! that’s really an amazing story. You had me hooked with the first line 🙂 I wish I finally have some amazing stories, as well as, girlfriends.

      Do you have blog too? I would love to come visit.

       
  2. makemommychic

    September 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    Hi, reading this post reminds me of when the kids were younger, how much I longed for adult interaction and trying to fix up as many playdates as I could to pass time. I’m glad that you are able to go out and enjoy some ‘mommy time’, all of us mothers deserve that 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog BTW, I always love meeting other mommies 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      September 23, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      Hi there, I finally realized this great truth after 3 years of no girl time. Now I’ve busy searching for the next month’s activity and juggling my schedule, and that makes me so much less *itchy 🙂

       
    • nmaha

      September 25, 2011 at 4:35 am

      Hahaha….you’re right there, play dates are as much for the mommies as the kids.

       
  3. tracey

    September 15, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Good for you! It’s tough making friends after children that don’t INCLUDE the children…

     
    • nmaha

      September 15, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      I totally agree, that
      s why a few of us moms have decided on an outing sans kids to start with 🙂

       
  4. nmaha

    September 10, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Sanju, you know me so well :-p See that’s the difference between friends you’ve grown-up with and new friends. There are very few adult friends who get to know you inside out. Miss you girl.

    The Techie teases me about my organizing habit and endless lists as well 🙂

     
  5. Sanjana

    September 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    *grin*

    Everything is a project with you isn’t it? 😀
    Hope you have a fun meetup!

     

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
