RSS

History, Fashion and Interesting Research

16 Sep

I decided to take a personal break at lunch today (before a big partner meet) and browse the book store (they had a 3 for 2 offer I didn’t want to miss). Here’s what I got:

  • Desperate in Dubai: I’ve followed this writer’s blog for a while and decided to see how that story ends (she actually got a book offer based on her blog!). Plus anything with Dubai can hook me, it’s too much a part of who I am, the good and the bad
  • Freakonomics: I don’t have my own copy and end up reading bits and pieces from my brother’s whenever I visit. It’s very entertaining and insightful at the same time and a book I can keep referring to
  • The First Floods: This is the first part of a series on the Chola Kings of South India. It was originally written in Tamil as a series in a magazine and has now been consolidated into a book and translated into English. It’s got drama, intrigue, romance, mystery and action
  • Vogue, Elle and Harpers Bazar
  • The Tudors: DVDs of partΒ 1 to 3 of the T.V. series

According to most psychologists and detective novels you can tell a lot about a person by the contents of their shopping basket. I feel like mine says – loves the Middle East, history, fun research and girlie stuff – which is kind of right, however, misses out on my love of art and the fact that I’m quite a tomboy at heart.

What books, magazines and DVDs have you bought lately? What does you book basket say about you?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2011 in Defining Me, The Real Me

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “History, Fashion and Interesting Research

  1. Sanjana

    October 5, 2011 at 3:30 am

    I bought Bill Bryson’s Notes from a Small Island and Toujours Provence.
    I guess that means I like traveling. Which is kind of a given if you know ANYthing abt me! πŸ˜›

     
    • nmaha

      October 6, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Hahaha….I didn’t really need your shopping list for that πŸ™‚

       
  2. Kusum Rohra

    September 25, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Ouch I lost my earlier comment on this post 😦 Anyways I wrote that this is a interesting co-incidence, I was just filling up my shopping cart on flipcart I have some 20-25 books right now and they are on:

    1 Travel : Lanka and Bhutan, as I told you earlier we are going to Lanka in December and after that we plan to take a road trip through Bhutan with another couple πŸ™‚

    2. Food: I am ordering Arabian and Sindhi cookbook πŸ™‚

    3. History: My grandparents came to India during the partition as they were Hindu Sindhis. There is a lot I don’t know as unfortunately I lost my grandparents at a young age, so I thought it would be a good idea to get some books on life for Sindhis after the partition πŸ™‚

    4.Advertisement: Couple of books on this for my brother.

    5. TV related: My husband grew up in Kuwait and so hasn’t seen Malgudi days, so buying the entire set for him πŸ™‚ and I love the movie Jaane bhi do yaaron, and a blogger Jai Arjun recently wrote a book on this, so getting that.

    Phew! Am still not done πŸ™‚ but these are the general categories my books fall under.

     
    • nmaha

      September 26, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      Hmmm….k let me try analysing that:
      – You love travel and good food (that was easy)
      – Your family history is important to you (you practically stated that)
      – You like to play big sister even today (Sherlock or not?!)
      – You had a great childhood and want to share the best bits with people close to you πŸ™‚

       
      • Kusum Rohra

        September 29, 2011 at 6:44 am

        One round of applause for you! You were right on all accounts πŸ™‚

         
      • nmaha

        September 29, 2011 at 9:33 pm

        Yay! πŸ™‚

         
  3. nmaha

    September 22, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    Hi there RS. Nice to see you here.

     
  4. RS

    September 21, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Hi! Thanks for dropping by at my space. Interesting space you have. Am going back and catching up on all your older posts πŸ™‚

     

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
