RSS

The Girlfriend Search: Kick it Up

23 Sep

So I literally ‘kicked’ my 12-Month Girlfriend Search into high-gear. For September’s activity I decided to combine two targets – look for potential friends and get fit. After July and August’s sedentary (though very effective) approaches, I’ve joined a BOOTCAMP.

I was on the lookout for a fitness option and while I didn’t want to join a gym, I was also not into training alone (I am not as motivated as I was previously). That’s when a family friend of mine pinged me and told me that her husband was starting a series of bootcamps in the city. I had been in touch with these friends a year back when the idea was a seed waiting to germinate and then it all seemed to die down. Well, apparently not, they were actually busy planning and putting things in motion and have launched this month.

I was initially a bit hesitant as the classes run only in the morning, and I would have a 20 minute drive either way followed by the school run. Thank God, that the old pre-child me kick the current me on the shin for being such a wuss. I’ve gone for just two classes and I’m on cloud nine. Yes, I’m completely unfit, so post workout I walk like a duck, however, my energy levels are soaring and I have already met two really nice women.

Top Secret Information: I though they were both college kids, turns out one of them has a 13 year old daughter and a 9 year old son. Thank heavens I didn’t put my foot in my my mouth. I haven’t found out much about the other girl yet. Do I sound a little bit creepy?

I was so kicked about this activity, that I made it the first day (last Tuesday) in-between this schedule:

Monday

8.30 am: Meet an old school friend and fellow-blogger for breakfast. She was passing through town and I had met her only once in the last 10 years! It was amazing, like we had never lost touch

11.00 am: Leave for the airport. I was supposed to leave at 10.30, and was delayed cause of some confusion with the cabs. I ended up taking a tuk-tuk, while promising the driver double fare, if he got me to the airport on time, he did. (Money well-spent)

12.45 pm – 5 pm: A short flight followed by a three hour drive to meet a new partner

11.30 pm: Flight back home, after a supremely scary three hour drive back (We were on an national highway, where truck drivers come in the wrong direction with no lights on!)

Tuesday

2:00 am: Get home to a dreaming child and exhausted techie. (They didn’t even know that I had come in.)

4.45 am: Get ready for class, get stuff for V’s milk and school stuff ready. Leave for Bootcamp in the pouring rain (It took me 40 minutes each way due to low visibility and the potential skid factor)

6-7 am: Great first class. Slightly wobbly on the walk back to the car

7.45 am: Rush in to find the techie and V ready. Shower and change in 10 minutes for rest of the day

2.00 pm: Cocktails and lunch with my new school mommy group, sans kids (Will share this story soon. Deserves it’s own post). Bliss, need I say more

3.30 pm: Back at my desk

11.30 pm: All systems shutdown

Analysis: The morning drive to and fro from class has become quality “me” time. Empty roads, great music and cool morning breezes. Plus, I’m in touch with my childhood-friend again, which is an unexpected bonus.

Verdict: Bootcamp rocks

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2011 in Creating a Social Life

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “The Girlfriend Search: Kick it Up

  1. Sanjana

    October 5, 2011 at 3:31 am

    you’re amazing! crazy, but amazing! 😛
    I don’t think I’d have been able to keep up with that schedule, nooo way!

     
    • nmaha

      October 6, 2011 at 7:33 pm

      *hug* You always make me feel special 🙂 You have inspired my December activity. I’ll tell the rest if the world about it in a month 🙂

       
  2. Kusum Rohra

    September 29, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Oh, are better now? Yes yes please look for Kusum Rohra on FB and same deal with my gmail, my first name dot my last name 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      September 30, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      Much better, thanks for asking, will be there tomorrow. Apparently there’s no Kusum Rohra on FB! I’ll send you and email though 🙂

       
      • Kusum Rohra

        October 1, 2011 at 4:29 am

        Aare I am very much there! Chala koi nahi, you send me an email and I shall hunt you down and add you, I’d be very much interested in seeing your Galle pics, specially since you mentioned that you mom rediscovered her inner hottness 🙂

         
      • nmaha

        October 1, 2011 at 7:03 pm

        Email sent 🙂
        I made such a fool of myself today. I went up to some random girl in the 7am class and said ” Kusum? Kusum?”, not even “Are you Kusum?”. She gave me a weird look, said “No, I”m not Kusum” and literally ran away. I guess I should catch my breath next time and form complete sentences if I don’t want to scare people away 🙂

         
  3. Kusum Rohra

    September 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Hey Girl,

    We are also on the tue, thurs and sat batch, I will come in 10 mins earlier on tuesday so that I can meet you 🙂 Will ask Coach Raj too and how do I sign up for your girlfriend search? In the last two years of being in Madras my social life has really been extinct 😦 as an additional offer let me tell you my husband is excellent with kids, so while we go for coffee/shopping or anything else he’d baby sit V happily.

     
    • nmaha

      September 26, 2011 at 7:42 pm

      Hi Kusum,

      This is so great. I love when people are as enthusiastic about stuff as me. You are now pronounced an official member of my girlfriend search (that’s about it 🙂 ).

      Can’t wait to meet tomorrow. Your husband’s baby-sitting skills are a definite temptation.

       
      • Kusum Rohra

        September 29, 2011 at 6:41 am

        Hey sorry couldn’t locate you last class. we reached right at the time our class was starting and I felt it wouldn’t be nice going up to Coach and asking him hey, you know my blogger friend :), if you see a laurel and hardy sorta couple tomorrow then it’s husband(laurel) and me(Hardy), please do wave! And how do I get in touch with you other than the blog?

         
      • nmaha

        September 29, 2011 at 9:35 pm

        I was the same *lo*. I hung around for a few minutes and then started to feel awkward, since you guys were running around the ground 🙂
        Give me your email id and I’ll send you my number or we can meet on FB (I should look for kusum rohra, right?)
        Was a little light-headed this morning, so skipped class after messaging Raj of course.

         
  4. Kusum Rohra

    September 24, 2011 at 3:36 am

    So you are in the 6-7 batch? We (husband and I) are in the 7-8 batch! Oh you think you are unfit? Wait till you meet me 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      September 24, 2011 at 5:30 am

      Seriously? You’re with the quad Bootcamp? I do tue, thurs and sat. What days are you guys on?

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
