RSS

Balancing It All

01 Nov

It’s been crazy few weeks around here, and the most impossible time for my life to demand balance. Murphy’s law huh! So we had the biggest Indian festival ever, Diwali, and at the same time we were working on one of our biggest deals yet. The hubby and I worked on the day of Diwali, sending emails and taking turns answering calls from the investment bankers; right in-between eating sweets, praying, lighting lamps, bursting crackers, spending time with family (who had flown in from all over the globe) and explaining everything to a three-year old.

On the same work-life balance theme, this is the time I chose to realign my day. I went from sleeping in the wee hours of the morning and waking-up just in time to get ready and rush to school, to sleeping by 11.30pm and waking-up at 4.45 am. Ordinarily, this would involve massive amounts of effort from a non-morning person like me. At this time it was truly a superhuman effort on my part. I slipped a few times, however, I’m proud to say that I have pretty much reset my internal clock over the last three weeks and I even have started, very slowly but surely, running outdoors again.

What was all that about?! Just a long-winded way of saying, “I’m sorry I have not been very regular and please don’t lose interest in this blog”. I will be back with my October and November social updates, as well as, the last two installments of our Sri Lanka trip (with pictures).

Here’s a quick picture of V having a doorstep summit with her cousins. Truly precious years these are and I don’t want to miss a minute.

 

P.S.- Today, I plan to treat myself to a girlie movie (SJP alert) before bed.

 
 

Tags:

11 responses to “Balancing It All

  1. Elisa

    November 16, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    wow, I am very impressed by your willpower – going to bed late and waking up that early? I am so exhausted all the time, I’d be even bitchier than usual if I did that. Mama needs her sleep! 😉

    Looking forward to hearing all about your trip to Sri Lanka and seeing some photos!

     
    • nmaha

      November 21, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      Thanks Elisa, I guess only one mama can understand another mamaa’s pressure 🙂 I am actually sleeping a little earlier than usual so it helps. Though I haven’t lost a pound, my skin’s looking good. Thank God for small blessings, right 🙂 Stay tuned for those pictures.

       
  2. STYLE'N

    November 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Hope you had a lovely Diwali with your family! I love Sri Lanka-went there a few years back and would love to visit again someday!

     
    • nmaha

      November 21, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Thank you Naina. Sri Lanka is a place I would love to visit again.

       
  3. Mwa (Lost in Translation)

    November 13, 2011 at 9:36 am

    How can you manage on so little sleep??? Do you get a nap in the afternoon?

     
    • nmaha

      November 15, 2011 at 3:15 am

      Mwa, so good to see u back. On the sleep front, unless I collapse at my desk at work, an afternoon nap is out of question. There are days when I think of just putting my head down on my desk for half an hr, schoolroom style 🙂

       
  4. Stacey Blake

    November 5, 2011 at 7:55 am

    I can so relate to a hectic life and trying to balance it all… it’s amazing how we find the superhuman energy to get it all done though:-)

     
    • nmaha

      November 10, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      Hi Stacey, superhuman is the right word. I’m amazed you have energy to blog and comment with your brand new little on at home 🙂 Congratulations on the gorgeous addition.

       
  5. Sanjana

    November 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Hope u had a wonderful Diwali in spite of all the work! Like I always say, I don’t know how you do it! 🙂
    I usually sleep for 7-8hrs regularly, and I need that much! On Diwali night, I went to bed at 3am and then rushed to be at work by 10:30 (yes I was late) and was lethargic and cranky the whole day! I dunno how you survive on 5hrs sleep! But I guess for u it’s more the case of “miles to go before I sleep” huh! 🙂
    And I’ve started running too! Good luck on that! 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      November 10, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      Hahhaa…you guessed the movie 🙂

      We had an amazing Diwali, it was so great to share the first proper Diwali with V. Plus my full family was here, so I really couldn’t ask for more.

      Hey, keep me updated on the running thing, we can do an online connect to encourage each other. How far along are you on distance? I am aiming for 2 10k events early next year, one being a trail run *fingers crossed*.

       
      • Sanjana

        November 16, 2011 at 1:47 am

        erm… i ran for 2 mins the first day, 4 mins the second… and then slowed down to a power walk…. and then stopped cos I had to go for the marshaling thing. 😛

         

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
