RSS

Campodimele – Novel Excerpt 1

22 Nov

That night as Rashmi went through her beauty routine of cleanse, tone and moisturize, she turned to Sakshini who was reading in her twin bed and cleared her throat.

‘Fine Rashmi, you can ask. I won’t get upset,’ smiled Sakshini wryly.

‘So are you going to make this thing with Anthony official and how are you going to manage long distance? Or maybe you can move here forever, lucky girl.’

‘My dearest romantic roomie, both Anthony and I know that this is just a holiday romance, which neither of us anticipated. We will go our separate ways next Sunday. Four weeks of fun within limits, that’s all it was.’

‘What? And Anthony is fine with this? He seems pretty into you. Have you really discussed this or are you assuming he’s on the same page?’

‘My life’s mapped out Rashmi, not by my family but by me. This was my off time and when I get back, I have to start pursuing the future I want. A starving, albeit inheritance-rich, artist is not the right life partner for me. I need someone who’ll understand my ambition and drive and more importantly match it, not a man who expects me to sit around and emotionally support him while he discovers himself and handles the ups and downs of artistic fame. For me marriage is about the coming together of two equals in thought and purpose.’

‘I don’t get you Sakshi, but you always were the over-achiever. Just promise me that’ll you’ll talk to him before you give him the decision,’ Rashmi said thoughtfully, as she switched of the light, pulled the curtains open and took a last look at the twinkling view before sliding into her bed.

‘Sure sweetie, I will. He’s a good friend and I care about him as a person. I’m not going to push him out at thirty thousand feet, metaphorically speaking.’

‘On a different note, I think I’m in love with this place and I’m not sure how I’m going to take the separation come Sunday. I can see what motivates artists like Van Gough and Monet. In fact I can imagine A night like this is what inspired him to paint Starry Night. Wish I had a little bit of the artist in me to capture all this beauty. Anyway, sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite. ’

‘Goodnight romantic roomie,’ said Sakshini smiling in the dark.

This is a teaser from the novel I’m currently working on. I’ll be posting more of these in the next two weeks, till I can get back to regular blogging.

P.S. – It’s not a romance.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2011 in Fiction

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Campodimele – Novel Excerpt 1

  1. Sanjana

    November 22, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    whoa! You’re writing a novel?! That’s awesome! 😀
    Looking forward to reading more!

     
    • nmaha

      November 24, 2011 at 1:13 am

      I’m attempting to write a roughish first draft 🙂
      Thanks for being an eager reader and don’t hold the constructive criticism back, I need it.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
