RSS

The Girlfriend Search: Accident or Serendipity?

06 Dec

Though I haven’t been a regular around here, I haven’t let go of my 12-month Girlfriend Search efforts and consequently, here’s the October update.

My October adventure reads more like a story. So read on and tell me if I got lucky because it was meant to be, or if me actively putting myself out there lead to this.

Towards the end of September, I took V out for one of our mommy-daughter Monday night dates (I have slacked on this in November and plan to make-up with loads of festive dates this December.) We were sipping on our exotic teas at the local tea-shop – V had a fruit and jasmine infusion, while I had the Kashmiri chai, without milk – and sharing a plate of smileys, when V picked up a magazine for herself and passed me one. Since she likes to pretend that she’s all grown-up on our girlie evenings, I went along and idly flipped through mine when I came across a small write-up recommending a blog. I noted it down for future reference, since I love finding new interesting blogs to read. V and I had a lovely evening and we headed home to bed, cuddles and the rest of the week.

A few nights later, when I was reading blogs on my iPhone while waiting for V to drift off into Never Never land, I came across the url I had saved. I logged on and started reading. This girl was smart, funny, loved to travel and was completely down to earth, at least in the blogosphere. I laughed and left a comment.

A few days before or after this, I can’t recall precisely when, I had written the post on my September activity – the bootcamp. Well, this great girl decided to stop by, check out my blog and leave a comment. Talk about returning the favour, she is really that cool.

Imagine my surprise when her comment said, “So you are in the 6-7 batch? We (husband and I) are in the 7-8 batch! Oh you think you are unfit? Wait till you meet me :)“.

I immediately replied with “Seriously? You’re with the quad Bootcamp? I do tue, thurs and sat. What days are you guys on?”

And so we went on till I was approaching total strangers at bootcamp with ‘ Are you K? Are you K?’ till they ran away from me.

Finally, we set a tentative date for a first girlfriend date and I waited with crossed fingers. ‘Would she be as cool as she was online? What if I didn’t like her in real life, how would I get out of future meetings?’ or even scarier, ‘What if she didn’t like me and we had to avoid each other at bootcamp out of sheer embarrasement?’

I won’t drag this story on any longer except to say that our quick lunch date, went on for three hours. And this woman is just as I imagined – smart, funny, loves to travel and completely down to earth. Plus she’s supposed be an excellent cook, though I still haven’t tasted any of her cooking.

We have now had multiple Saturday dates including shopping for clothes (you need to be very comfortable with someone to do this), massage and detox lunches and a fusion concert (sadly cancelled by the organizers at the last moment). Matter of fact we call each other our ‘Saturday girlfriends’ and I can’t wait for her to get back from her three country holiday, with her husband, for us to go on our next date.

So what do you think? Accident or serendipity?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in Creating a Social Life

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “The Girlfriend Search: Accident or Serendipity?

  1. Kusum Rohra

    December 15, 2011 at 1:38 am

    I am so so so Flattered by this post N, you should link my blog so that I bask in the glory of your fan following here 😀 Meeting you and being friends with you is the best thing that’s happened to me in a long time in Chennai, though I didn’t launch a formal Girl friend search since I am not so organised 😦 I was desperately looking out for some friends who are fun, smart and down to earth and you have voiced my sentiments here about the apprehensions on our first meeting, well, we are past that and I am so glad I have someone who I can randomly call and ask for accompanying to an exhibition or shopping 🙂

    See you soon!!

     
  2. STYLE'N

    December 10, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Definitely Serendipity and so gad you found a new friend. It is always nice to connect with friends you have things in common with. We are about to move to Bethesda MD so I will be finding new ways to meet friends too! Hope you are doing well and thanks for all your sweet comments on my blog.

     
    • nmaha

      December 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      It seems like Serendipity is the clear winner here 🙂
      Keep us updated on how your friend search goes after the move, maybe I can pick-up some tips.

       
  3. traceybecker

    December 10, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Yay! That’s awesome. I’m glad you’ve got a new girlfriend. 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      December 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      Hehe Tracey, ‘Yay!’ is what I said too 🙂

       
  4. The Wild Child

    December 9, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Serendipity, of course! Nothing like girlfriends, mannnnn! I’ve realized now that I need to have one – ideally, many – in my life so I don’t expect future boyfriends/husbands to fulfill the same needs and then get peeved if they don’t (or complain that I attract men who don’t know how to be men)! 😀

    And hey, Sanjana said you’d be visiting DXB at the same time as I 🙂 let’s meet!!!!

     
    • nmaha

      December 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm

      Wow! I love the way you are open to changing yourself instead of pointing fingers. A lot of people would lead happier lives if they had the same attitude.
      Yes, yes, yes, Sanju told me about your visit and I can’t wait to meet you 🙂

       
  5. Sanjana

    December 7, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    that’s so cool that you’ve made a blog friend who is actually in the same city as you!
    All my blog-friends are overseas!

    Serendipity of course! Cos V showed you the article by accident, but you followed through with it so that you guys were able to connect! 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      December 8, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      It is cool. This is the first time I have a blogger friend in the same country 🙂 It does seem like Serendipity doesn’t it. I never realised, till you pointed it out, but I have V to thank for my new friend.

       
  6. Elisa

    December 6, 2011 at 9:05 am

    oh, girl! Serendipity, absolutely!! So happy you found a cool friend near you! They just make like soooo much better 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      December 6, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      Hi Elisa, one vote for Serendipity it is 🙂 Thank you and I agree, great girlfriends really perk-up your life.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
