RSS

The Girlfriend Search: Real Life Dream

11 Jan

I am tempted to start biting my nails (something I have never done before). Basically anything, to relieve the anxiety I’m suffering from, will be welcome. No, for once it’s not just the business or motherhood. This is something else that I deeply care about (yes, the list seems to be growing everyday, wonder when it’ll end).

A literary agent asked for a detailed synopsis of my book and I was filled with enthusiasm. Surprisingly, writing that synopsis took me a week! It was way tougher than writing the first draft. Well, I finally sent it off last week and I haven’t heard back. Now, I know that handling rejections is part of the game, the agent has mentioned that it can take them up to sixty days to get back and that finding an agent is only the first step in the long journey to getting your book published and distributed, however, I just can’t seem to sit still. Will I turn into a raving maniac by the time I get my book on store shelves (I’m not even thinking of ‘if’, it’s only ‘when’)?

I guess, most of you are wondering (you do think about me right?) where all this book writing stuff came from. Here’s the back story. My November challenge, under the 12 Month Girlfriend Search, was to find a book club. Unfortunately, nothing remotely resembling one was available within a reasonable distance. As I was desperately searching online, using far out combinations such as ‘group+book’, I came upon this wonderful organization called NaNoWriMo.

Now, I won’t go in to the details, since you can get all of it on the NaNoWriMo the website, suffice to say, they encourage amateur writers and wannabe novelists, like me, to try actually writing that novel, instead of just talking about it. The challenge was to write 50,000 words in a month, without any editing. Best idea ever, since I realised that editing as I write and mid-novel research, are the two reasons I have never finished any previous novelling (not a real word?) attempts. The long and short of the story is that after working on the outline and other related stuff for the novel in the last week of October, I was psyched to start on the first of November.

Three weeks into the challenge and I had written only 15,000 words, while people around me had crossed the 50,000 mark and were talking about working on the second version of their drafts. Well, I was not going to be left behind, this was the first time in the last six years that I had worked on one of my passions. In the last three days of November, I slept for about eight hours in total and uploaded the completed draft on the 30th of November at 10pm. The sense of victory I felt on seeing that purple winner banner against my name was indescribable.

The funny thing was, though I never made it to any of the physical meets, the sense of community online was phenomenal. People were letting each other into their heads and minds and it was enlightening in so many ways. I don’t know if I would have taken the challenge quite so seriously if I didn’t have a whole bunch of people cheering me on.

Anyway, the crux of the story is, after fifteen years of half-written novels, I finally have a completed, albeit very roughly drafted novel in my hands and it’s making me dream like never before.

Do you plan to start working on any of your passions this year or is it already a big part of your current life? Do share.

P.S. – I’m becoming more of my own person through this 12 Month exercise. If you notice I didn’t mention V or the techie even once. (Damn, now I have.)

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Creating a Social Life, Novel, Passions and Dreams

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “The Girlfriend Search: Real Life Dream

  1. Sanjana

    January 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    it’s amaaazing that you’ve actually gotten a book written! Very proud of you! 🙂

    All the best and I hope it gets published and it becomes huge! 🙂

    *fingers crossed*

     
    • nmaha

      January 16, 2012 at 5:42 pm

      Thanks Sanjana. It would be a dream come true to be a published author. I’m giving it my best shot 🙂

       
  2. ebmom

    January 14, 2012 at 6:12 am

    that is absolutely amazing, I am so so excited for you!! keeping my fingers crossed (though I am sure you don’t need it!). Off to Check out NaNoWriMo. And for some reason I just thought of Mork.

     
    • nmaha

      January 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Thanks Elisa 🙂 I think my blogger friends are the ones who really get the pain and excitement. What’s ‘Mork’?

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
