RSS

Blogger Flashback

21 Jan

I started blogging in April 2010 for a multitude of reasons. Today, I went back to my old blog to see if my focus as a blogger has really changed. Funny thing was, I can’ t really judge, maybe I’m too close to the situation, so I thought I’ll share my first ever post with all of you and ask you to be the judge. Please do share your thoughts, I’m sure they’ll be interesting and enlightening. 

Writing has always been my chosen form of self-expression. Up until I became a mom, writing in my diary was satisfying enough. But when I entered this new phase of life, I realized that I wanted to connect with other people who were going through the same stuff. And that’s what I hope to do through this blog, make a whole bunch of new friends who can guide me or at the minimum commensurate and celebrate with me.

Being a mummmy is by far the toughest thing I have ever had to do. I have a gorgeous and sweet-tempered baby, however, I absolutely hated the first year of being a mom (more about that in another entry). I don’t think my daughter is to blame for this, it’s totally because of the kind of person I am:
– I love spending time on my own – reading, painting (you don’t get much of this when you have a baby or toddler attached to you). Even after I got married, if my husband was busy I would happily take off to go have lunch at a coffee shop with just my book for company.
– I have to ‘do’ something fun or exciting everyday, or at least every weekend. I can’t stand having one day be exactly like the next
– I love working. I just can’t be a housewife or a stay at home mom. I tried being a housewife for three months, during my first year of marriage. I drove my husband crazy and he begged me to go do whatever makes me happy.
Am I a freak or are there other mummy’s out there like me? Can you love your baby with all your heart and still want to go to work, leaving her behind everyday. Because if I’m honest, though I need to work for the financial comfort it gives me, I also want to work (even though my husband is willing to be the sole breadwinner).

So, what do you think? Has my style and/or focus changed?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Defining Me, The Real Me

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Blogger Flashback

  1. traceybecker

    February 11, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I think it takes a real woman to admit what she wants and needs to be happy. For all of us, it is different. That doesn’t make either of us less of a woman or a mother. It just makes us DIFFERENT. And thank God we’re all different! What a dull world it would be if we were all the same…

     
    • nmaha

      February 11, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      I feel so good now Tracey. It’s true isn’t it, variety is the spice of life.

       
  2. Megan, The Frugalista Diaries

    January 29, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Wow, I feel exactly the same, though I like the first year of baby’s life and hate the 2 yr’s….And as a stay at home mom for 3 years, I would love to go work, so I know how you feel, it’s a tough job, tougher than I ever could’ve imagined. I guess we should be less guilty, because we are who we are and we do our best and feel good about what we do, amazingly!

     
    • nmaha

      February 6, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      I like the way you think Megan. We need to accept it’s a tough job, with an extremely high uncertainty factor and be proud of how we handle it with love 🙂

       
  3. Anita Nandini

    January 25, 2012 at 6:19 am

    OMG , its like Im hearing my voice…except it isnt mine..its some one else’s. The first year every day I would wake up thinking “i have signed up for this , but am i ready ? Oh god When will i ever be ready”…its like some one cut off your wings….i mean we love our child and everything else but its a steep learning curve…did i forget to mention STEEP lol….but ya now i think i have got the hang of it.. I have to stay you are an HONEST mom and take credit for it . These age old cliches of if you love your kid, you should want to stay at home with her or him dont work. I think its better you go out there do you what your good at , engage your energies in a challenging fashion that you gives you growth , meaning and direction and of course money 🙂 This way you will be in a good frame to deal with child ( without baggage,frustration etc ) and engage with the child as well meaningfully. I know a plenty of stay at homes who dont do half as much with the kid as working moms.

    I went through this whole thing too. I am not working full time, but I put in almost 6 plus hours of work . Intially it was tough , but now I realize if I dint do that , I was letting it get in the way of being a good parent and spouse.

    So girl, you go out there and shine as you are doing now. Your daughter will grow up and respect you that much more. Coz you will always know when to balance and when to stretch and you will be teaching her that well.

     
    • nmaha

      January 27, 2012 at 10:45 pm

      Anita! it’s great to see you here. I know that feeling, when you read a blog and feel like the person has crawled into your head. Thanks for the positive encouragement 🙂

       
  4. Sanjana

    January 22, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I feel like mostly you’re the same, except more sure about your likes and less guilty (I feel) for being the way you are. Which is great, cos you’re quite an exemplary mom, and a very astute business-woman!

     
    • nmaha

      January 24, 2012 at 5:06 pm

      Thanks Sanju. Seems like you know me better than I know myself 🙂

       
      • Sanjana

        January 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

        hehe. I listen!

         

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
