RSS

Tagged

15 May

I’ve been tagged for the first time ever! Thank you Elisa and sorry for the delay in posting.

I’m copying the rules right off her page (including her tweaks) and have add a few changes of my own, purely in the interests of making this post a readable length:

1. Post the rules.

2. Post 12 5 fun facts about yourself in the blog post.

3. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you in their post and create 12 10 5 new questions for the fellow bloggers you plan to tag.

4. Tag 12 6 3 people and link to them on your blog.

5. Let them know you tagged them.
Five facts about me:
1. I looooooooooooove reading. There’s nothing that makes me happier than a new book to read
2. I’m attempting to complete my first novel.
3. My dream is to start a bookshop, with a cafe and a small art gallery to promote local artists.
4. I don’t consider myself maternal but now I can’t wait to have another baby, though I don’t know how I’m going to manage my daily schedule.
5. I adore travelling and love the journey as much as I do reaching a much anticipated  destination.
Elisa’s 10 questions for me (yay!):
1. You have an unlimited budget and free use of a jet for 24 hours. Where would you go and how would you spend your time?
I would buy my way onto an archaeological dig preferable in old Egypt. My secret love is ancient history and archaeology.
2. What do you never get tired of?
Reading or rather books.
3. You are stranded on a desert island. You can pick 3 people to be your fellow islanders: one celebrity, one fictional character and one person from your circle of family and friends (past and present). Who would you pick and why?
Celebrity – Wilbur Smith – He is the best author I have ever read and there is so much I want to ask him and learn from him. Plus I’m sure he’ll be able to spin enough stories to stave of boredom.
Fictional Character – Phoebe Buffy from friends, she’s smart, has a great sense of humour, is a little quirky and has a real figure (she’s hot and curvy, so I won’t feel weird like a baby elephant in my swimwear).
Family/Friends – My family is so large and made up of so many different personalities, that it’s difficult to choose. I’ll go with my dad, because we never get bored when together, even if we are just silent,  and he is the my pillar of strength and my hero (a complete necessity when stranded on a desert island and awaiting rescue).
4. What is the most romantic thing anyone has ever said to you or done for you?
It’s in the everyday unexpected things that the techie does to make my life a little bit easier (and this from a completely unromantic person). If I have to choose one incident it would be, taking me to Egypt on our honeymoon and booking the Royal Oberoi Lodge that is literally right in front of the Pyramids, followed by five days on the Nile.
5. We all have memories that never lose the power to make us cringe or make us feel embarrassed, no matter how many years have passed. Tell me one of yours.
I have so many, so will share the most recent one. A month back a whole group of us went on a 10k trail run in support of a charity. Out of all the 1000+ participants I was the only one to end up in a ditch. Seriously embarrassing when kids and people above the age of 60 were part of the run and none of them had any accidents. One minute I was on the trail and the next minute in a ditch and had to be helped out by a group of teenagers who took pity on me.
6. Call it: the best cheap brand/store ever and the absolute worst expensive one.
I’ll skip this question since I don’t have any particular experiences that stand out in my memory.
7. Finish this sentence: “I don’t care if it’s a cliché, I love(d)…”
Breakfast at Tiffany’s 🙂
8. Your best quality and your worst one.
My best quality (according to the techie) is that I’m easy to please in a material sense. Yes, I appreciate comfort and beauty but I’m also happy with what I have at the moment while striving towards what I want or think I need. My worst, my inability to resurface when caught up in a book. I am even liable to forget I’m a mother.
9. “… I simply remember my favorite things, and then I don’t feel so bad” sang Julie Andrews. What is the thing(s) that never fails to make you smile and raise your spirits?
Anything with colour and a family holiday.
10. Let’s talk books. Specifically, tell me one book everyone should read.
Without doubt, Wilbur Smith’s River God. I introduced the techie to it on our Egyptian honeymoon :-), while sailing down the Nile.
I’m tagging:
Sanjana at Travel and Other Life Changing Pursuits (a girl after my own heart)
Naina at STYLE’N (she know’s her style)
Simon at Sweet and Weak (he makes you think and laugh, a deadly combination)
My list of questions:
  1. What one incident/person could make you drop whatever you were doing and fly halfway across the world?
  2. Given a choice where would you opt to live on this gorgeous planet of ours and why?
  3. Your guilty pleasure. What is it? Do you hide it or are you open about it?
  4. Which book do you think no one must ever miss reading?
  5. Family or friends, which one do you prefer spending time with? Reasons please.

There I’m done. Now it’s time to sit back and wait for the others to share their deep, dark secrets with us.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Tagged

  1. STYLE'N

    May 31, 2012 at 5:10 am

    I agree-I never get tired of reading and I think I need to do it more often. Now that all my favorite shows are over for the summer I think I’ll definitely read more. Thanks for tagging me..so sweet and thoughtful of you to think of me!

     
    • nmaha

      June 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Hi Naina, let me know if you want reading recommendations, have come across some great books lately.

       
  2. Elisa (@HipMom)

    May 26, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    oh yay, so fun!! Love reading these things 🙂

     
    • nmaha

      May 27, 2012 at 6:24 am

      I had fun doing it Elisa. Thanks 🙂

       
  3. Sanjana

    May 17, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    thanks for the tag! 🙂
    And yes, of course you love reading! I remember you used to read in class as well, and even when the teacher asked a question, you’d still have all the answers! I never could figure out how you did that!

     
    • nmaha

      May 18, 2012 at 1:38 am

      Hahaha…………I remember sitting behind people taller than me to get adequate cover for my book 🙂
      Take your time on the tag, though truth be told, I’m curious.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
