RSS

The Girlfriend Search: Consolidate in Glitter

20 Jun

Since I started on my Journey last year with the 12-Month Girlfriend Search, I have realized that things happen to those people who make the effort to make things happen. I know it sounds a bit convoluted, however, it’s the only way I can actually express what I’ve experienced. Basically, I guess, we need to get the ball rolling before it picks up momentum on it’s own. The initial shove is the toughest, after that it’s just a question of keeping it on the right path and an occasional push when it hits a bump. It’s also a case of having your eyes open so that you don’t miss opportunities that you previously would not even have noticed. In fact, my 12-Month program has turned into a ‘Create the Life You Want’ exercise, rather than just a search for the ideal gang of girlfriends (though I found that too).

Anyway, I had committed to give a monthly update on my activities and am currently seven months behind on that schedule (bad girl). Post the intensity of my 30-day novel writing experience in November (1am to 3am most nights), I decided to follow a common strategy that we use in business after a period of intense activity – Consolidate and Re-asses. The whole of December was spent nurturing my most important female relationships – with my mother, daughter and myself – and strengthening the new ones I had made in the last six months. So it was basically a case off dress up, party, kick off those high heels and relax. I finally wore all those glittery outfits that I had binged on, watched a whole bunch off classic glamorous black and white movies (Hello, Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Casablanca), spent time at the spa with my mom and baby and even made a short trip home where I caught-up with classmates who I hadn’t meet in ten years (thought we keep in touch online)!

This may not seem like much of an activity or a big contributor to my girlfriend search, however, I would say it was as important as the first month when I kicked of this project. It helped me re-asses what I wanted out of this project; what I had achieved in the last six months and what I wanted to really retain and work out of that list; and finally how I planned to carry this project forward. I also planned the big finale to my one year effort (which ends this month, June ’12) and decided to consciously turn this effort into ‘A Create Your Ideal Life’ one for the next six months, a slight change from just a girlfriend search.

So stay tuned to see how I went from a girl who forgot her 30th b’day to one who had a week long celebration for her 31st.

By the way I turned 31 last week, so HAPPY B’DAY to me, yay!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Creating a Social Life, Novel

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The Girlfriend Search: Consolidate in Glitter

  1. hAAthi

    June 28, 2012 at 2:52 am

    Happy belated birthday, you! Hopw it was a fab one!

    Tell me more about this girlfriend search (or point me to where it all began and il read!) it sounds very much like something i could do with right about now.

     
  2. Elisa (@HipMom)

    June 26, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Belated happy birthday!

    I need to follow suit and do a girlfriend search myself. I am feeling very girlfriend-deprived these days – have lots of friends, but none close enough. Gah.

     
    • nmaha

      July 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      Thanks Elisa. Yes, I was feeling the pangs of deprivation when I set off on this journey. I’ve had an unbelievable year.

       
  3. Sanjana

    June 21, 2012 at 3:06 am

    Happy belated birthday babe! Sorry I missed it! Are you still in dxb?

    It’s good that you got some much-deserved ME time with yourself and your mom and daughter. 🙂 Good for you!
    Are you rejuvenated and ready to kick ass again? 😀

     
    • nmaha

      June 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Just got back Sanju. We always have next time.
      I was all charged up after that break and planning things really helped me make the most of the next 6 months.
      Waiting to hear all about your trip to France.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
