RSS
Aside
18 Aug

I’m sure all of us held our children a little closer and tighter, while praying for this family on Thursday. Losing a child is unnatural in the natural order of things and I hope the family is given the strength to get through this terrible time. We can never prepare ourselves for such an incident and most of us don’t even consider it a possibility. Unfortunately, many of us, including me, take our children for granted (this does not reflect on the fact that we love them to bits), which is normal given the numerous responsibilities we need to attend to on a daily basis. I for one am trying to appreciate my little one a bit more and it was while trawling my old blog entries on her, that I came across this one that made me feel a bit better. I first posted this in April 2010 (on my previous blog) and have just re-posted it here.

My mornings seem to be unbelievably busy, though all I do is feed my daughter breakfast and make her use the potty (my husband does this on my yoga mornings) before getting both of us ready. The rush is despite the fact that I organize all our clothes and other stuff the previous night.I invariably lose my cool, when my daughter starts choosing what footwear she wants to wear to school. I mean she just turned 2 in April, isn’t it too early for her to have a fashion sense? Anyway, this crazy morning rush was what caused one of my most uncomfortable days at work (since we started our own business).

It was a usual weekday morning and I had just about managed to get everyone in the car (we drop our daughter off at school on the way to work). The little one kept saying “Mummy, wrong shoes, wrong shoes”. I shushed her with a “behave yourself” as I tried to feed her the cereal she had refused to eat at home. When we finally got to school she gave my husband a big hug and kiss before getting off. While I walked her to the gate, she had a last try “Mummy, your shoes are wrong” (she often gets mine and yours mixed-up). I ignored her comments and hugged her, she in turn gave me a kiss and a confused stare before heading indoors with her favorite teacher.

Half an hour later, I was holding my first discussion of the day in the corridor of our office, even before I reached my desk, when my accountant walked past and gave me a quizzical look. I smiled at her and continued the conversation. Throughout the day I kept getting these confused stares from people and couldn’t figure them out. I finally found out why when I bent down to retrieve a fallen bill. Horror of horrors, I had worn my water-proof house-slippers, the variety with a red and black floral design to work!

While I was busy shushing her, my poor little baby was trying to save me from embarrassing myself at work. Now, I pay a lot more attention to her morning comments and try and stop myself from shushing her in general. I’ve realized one thing, she is totally focused on the moment, unlike her preoccupied mom.

I have a lot to learn from you my sweetheart.

Appreciating Our Children

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Lessons in Parenting

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Appreciating Our Children

  1. nmaha

    August 31, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    ROFL, that was a hilarious story Sanju. Something I should keep in mind, since we always have bandages lying around the office 🙂

     
  2. Sanjana

    August 28, 2012 at 3:40 am

    Stupid autocorrect on the iPad! Pliss excuse!

     
  3. Sanjana

    August 27, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    lol! aw! poor V! She must’ve been so confused! And it can’t have been pretty for you either!
    I always carry a spare set of heels in the car in case I’m wearing flats to work and need to switch. I also keep flats in the office, for when I’m wearing heels and want to walk around comfortably in the office.

     
    • mniranjani

      August 28, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Yup, she was really confused and actually brought it up when I got home that even, lol. The spare shoes at work thingy is something I keep meaning to do, but always forget, am on it now 🙂

       
      • Sanjana

        August 28, 2012 at 3:39 am

        Just remembered that this happened to my colleague once. He forgot to change his bathroom slippers and only remembered After he got jewel Ali (150 Kms away from home, he lived in she then). He went directly to Enoch, bought a set of bandages, taped up one ankle and said he’d injured it playing football! He even walked around limping slightly! 😛 He only told me yeeeears later that it was fake. 😛
        Of course, you can’t even do that in your line of work!

         

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
