RSS

Is it always this way with the first one?

23 Oct

The first born, the first novel, the first job. There are doubts and believing others when they tell you it’ll work out on it’s own (till you realise unless you take a decision and act on it, nothing moves) or that you are doing something wrong and their way is the best way. At least it has been that way for me.

I wrote my first (complete) novel way back in November 2011. I got a publishing offer, which was not what I was looking for, as it was in an e-book format and I really wanted to feel my first literary baby in my hands. About six months back I actually  found an agent willing to take me on and I was unbelievably excited. When she finally got round to asking for the completed manuscript I was confident and happily committed on a date of delivery. One week later I started a new sub-plot because I felt the pace was too slow. Soon planning the sub-plot took precedence and I started struggling to rework the time lines within my novel. The delivery date came and went and now it’s more than a month later, however, I have not yet written the changed version of my novel.

If that’s not enough, I have already started charting out the plot for our second novel, with the techie. I have committed to doing a group writing exercise every November and come what may I’ll have to drop all other writing activity and  start on novel number two on the 1st of next month. This is the only way I’ll commit to finishing a novel without wasting time or re-writing and editing.

So what’s the bottom-line here? I basically can’t club creativity and organization. At work I’m an accountant and everything is charted out way in advance by me, with schedules, sub-schedules and reviews, and I’m comfortable handling pretty large teams on tight deadlines. On the other hand let me loose with a passion of mine and I lose track of time and place and the very real world of patient agents, inflexible deadlines and actually submitting your work so that it can be edited and published. Fingers crossed that she agrees to continue as my agent, once I submit the updated version of my novel.

What do you do when you have a creative deadline? Can you work with both sides of your brain at once?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in Novel, Passions and Dreams, The Real Me

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Is it always this way with the first one?

  1. traceybecker

    December 4, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Deadlines make my brain shut down. REALLY FAST.

     
    • nmaha

      December 4, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Hi Tracey, it’s been sooooo long 🙂 Yes, I hear you. It’s like your creative side freezes when it hears the word ‘deadline’.

       
  2. Elisa (@HipMom)

    November 1, 2012 at 2:57 am

    oh girl, I hear you. I am not a novelist by any stretch of the imagination,. but I do know that my creativity and inspiration when it comes to writing doesn’t bend well to organization – it’s either/or!

    That said, I am incredibly impressed and proud of you!

     
    • nmaha

      November 6, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Elisa you just made my day 🙂

       
  3. Kusum

    October 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Creative deadline never ever ever ever works for me!! I have been working on Verry India’s Online Store and daily I sit for hours and hours staring at the “About Us” “The Verry India Story” etc pages trying to fill them with a creatively written introduction but zilch, nada, nothing.

    I am sure if I just let it be and forget about it, then like a burst of inspiration the words will come to be, but on a deadline they always fail me 😦

    Really looking forward to your book, but before that the manuscript, I’ve never read a manuscript before!!!! * rubs hands in glee *

     
    • nmaha

      October 24, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      *big sigh of relief* Thank God it’s not just me. Will be starting on the final version (pre-editing) today, will keep you posted
      A kickstarter that I use, is to read similar content on other websites. It gets you into a relevant frame of mind, which helps. (No copying obviously )

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
