RSS

What I’ve Learnt in 31 Years – Part 1

23 Jan

Yup, the title says it all. These are the lessons I want to make sure I share with my daughter and all the other children in my family.

  • While using ketchup packets, always check the direction of the tear and aim away from you while squeezing. I’m invariable wearing white or a pastel shade when I get a substantial dollop of red on me. Once the dollop’s there, don’t rub, just gently dab and you may save your outfit. I have recently discovered a bleach white stick, but seriously who carries these around
  • Most Indian elders are willing to listen to your point of view, if you precede it with something on the lines of “please forgive my ignorance on account of my age……….” in a respectful tone
  • Most dressing room mirrors at clothing stores are like the fancy ones in the house of mirrors, they elongate and narrow your frame. Don’t believe them, trust your instinct
  • Children get dirty, very dirty. A proper hot bath is the only way to get them clean. Make it a bubble bath if you don’t whining of “I’m tired/sleepy/hungry”
  • How do you know you enjoy what you do? Monday mornings are not blue, unless that’s your favourite colour

 

It’s funny but only the really small things have stuck with me. I can’t for the life of me remember anything that’s ground breaking or life changing. Hmmm………… food for though?! Maybe in the next part.

What are the life lessons you want to pass on?

 

Photo Credit: Image 1

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “What I’ve Learnt in 31 Years – Part 1

  1. Elisa (@HipMom)

    January 26, 2013 at 2:22 am

    hahaha – great life lessons!

    Mine would be “don’t just try – give it your best shot”. There is little pride and even less to learn in doing things half-assed.

     
    • nmaha

      January 30, 2013 at 10:43 pm

      Spot on. The phase “I’ll try” is similar to when most moms say “we’ll see” ;-).

       
      • Elisa (@HipMom)

        March 7, 2013 at 3:45 am

        hahaha – that is absolutely true 😀

         
  2. life is a bowl of kibble

    January 23, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Always be willing to take a chance.

     
    • nmaha

      January 24, 2013 at 10:42 pm

      That is a good one 🙂 I would add, ‘trust and verify’ to that.

       

Let me know what you think. It means a lot more to me than you'll ever know .

 
